There are a few ways that a ClassTag Connect school or district can upload classrooms, student, and guardian data into ClassTag - including automating a data sync via your SIS, Clever, or ClassLink.

Here are some FAQs regarding a ClassTag Connect data sync.


SYNC UPDATES

What is a SIS Synced School or District?

Any ClassTag school or district that is automating the update of their ClassTag data from their SIS - either through Clever, ClassLink, or a daily automated SFTP import of their data in OneRoster format.

What initial data can we get from our sync?

  • Classes/Sections + Rosters

  • Teachers: Names + Emails

  • Students: Names + Emails

  • Guardians: Names + Emails + Phone/SMS

  • Student/Guardian Relationships

What data will NOT be added from our sync?

  • Guardians that do not have at least one unique contact credential will NOT be added to ClassTag. Once the SIS is updated with at least one unique contact credential for that guardian, they will be added to ClassTag in the next sync.

What data will automatically update from our sync?

  • Classes/Sections + Rosters

  • New Students: Names + Emails

  • New Guardians: Names + Emails + Phone/SMS

  • Student/Guardian Relationships

  • Invitee Users: Any user who has NOT yet accepted their ClassTag invitation to activate their account will have their contact information updated based on what is within your SIS.

  • Abandoned Users + Classrooms: Users and Classrooms that are removed from the SIS will be appropriately disconnected or archived from ClassTag based on your settings.

What data will NOT automatically update from our sync?

  • Active Users: Any user who HAS already accepted their ClassTag invitation to activate their account must update their information directly from their ClassTag account settings.


CLASSROOMS

Can we manually create classrooms outside of the sync?

Yes. Administrators can create and modify classrooms. The school-level “SIS Rostering” allows teachers to do so as well.

However, only students that are already entered in the SCHOOL DIRECTORY can be added to a classroom. New students cannot be created in a classroom. Student names must match identical to what appears in the school directory in order to be added to the classroom.

Can we edit synced classrooms?

The following edits are allowed:

  • Edit Classroom Name

  • Add Students (from school directory) - If SIS Rostering setting is selected.

  • Add a Co-Teacher - If SIS Rostering setting is selected.


GUARDIANS

Can we manually add guardians outside of the sync?

Yes. School or District Leaders can manually add guardians directly in ClassTag that are not included in your SIS data sync. This takes place within the SCHOOL DIRECTORY when selecting a specific student.

Guardians can also be added to ClassTag through the classroom JOIN CODES.

Can we edit synced guardians?

Guardians can edit their own ClassTag information once they become an active user within “Account Settings”. There is also a designated role (USERS_MANAGER) that can be assigned on the backend for any number of leaders to also have access to edit active or invitee users. However, invitee users' information will be overwritten by the next sync until that user becomes "active".

*Reach out to your Customer Success Manager to ask for the USERS_MANAGER role to be assigned.


STUDENTS

Can we manually add students outside of the sync?

No. Students within your ClassTag account can only be updated by what is maintained within your SIS when your sync is active.

Can we edit synced students?

The following edits can be made to students who have been added to ClassTag from your SIS sync:

  • Add a student to a new or existing classroom from the SCHOOL DIRECTORY (Teachers + School Leaders)

  • Enable a student's account within the SCHOOL DIRECTORY (School Leaders)

  • Edit a student's name (USERS_MANAGER)


OTHER

What if we do not want to sync anymore?

You can choose to disable your sync at any time if you'd like to move forward fully manual. Just reach out to your Customer Success Manager for assistance.

What happens to old students or guardians when they leave our school?

SOFT (Default): When a family is “abandoned” (both a student and his guardians are no longer in SIS)

  • The family is removed from all its active classrooms, but not removed from archived classrooms (for future access to data).

  • Student becomes “archived” and can still be found on the School Directory in Archived or All Students, but not Active Students sections (his parents are still connected to the student, so they are displayed there too).

  • Since the student is not removed from archived classrooms, backpacks in those classrooms continue to live.

  • Guardians still have access to the student and his backpacks, but they do not have access to the school or any of its classrooms.

  • Guardians do not receive any communications about school-wide or district-wide announcements or events.

EXTREME (By Request): When a family is “abandoned” (both a student and his guardians are no longer in SIS)

  • The family is removed from the school and all its classrooms completely.

  • Guardian accounts continue to exist and they’re still linked to a student and can see him in their Account Settings, but there’s nothing useful on the student record (no backpacks, etc.).

Did this answer your question?